Best Econometric Thesis Award (βETA)

Writing a thesis takes a lot of effort, so we want to reward you for this hard work! That is why FAECTOR, in cooperation with Veneficus and the Econometric Institute, organises the Best Econometric Thesis Award (βETA). The βETA is initiated by Veneficus to promote innovative research, which can also be used in the daily business of organisations. The βETA will be combined with an information session about the Master thesis. This way, Master students can gain insights into what they can expect when writing their Master thesis.

Students that complete their thesis between August 2018 and August 2019 can apply for the Best Econometric Thesis Award of 2019. The Master Coordinators all nominate one thesis per Master specialisation in Econometrics and Management Science at Erasmus University in Rotterdam. These nominees will present their thesis at the Best Econometric Thesis Award. This year this ceremony will take place the 30th of November. During this event, the winner of the βETA of 2018 and the winner of the audience award will be announced. This years members of the jury Patrick Groenen, Dick van Dijk and Remy Spliet will be choosing the winner, who will be awarded with a prize of €1000. The nominees will receive a prize of €200. The winner of the audience award will be awarded with a helicopterflight over Rotterdam.

This years nominees are Michael Hogers (Quantitative Finance), Bart Lammers (Business Analytics & Quatitative Marketing), Lotte Bransen (Operations Research & Quantitative Logistics), Justyna Klejdsz (Econometrics). 

If you have any questions about the procedure, feel free to send an email to